A few teething problems: tax rates

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      L
      Participant

Firstly, thank you for the new version without the ioncube requirements; I have bought and installed it very smoothly! This is my first time using Xeroom; we have the WC Xero add-on but it’s not very customisable and I am hoping that Xeroom will be more friendly.

I have a few queries based on my experience with the other Xero add-on and how it differs from Xeroom.

1. Zero tax rates are not coming up right for me. I use a third party add-on (Aelia’s EU VAT assistant) which allows me to specify precise tax rates for each region. This seems to work well with Xeroom’s ‘Complex Tax Methods’ option, except that regions not explicitly listed in the EU VAT assistant’s chart are now given the default UK tax rate in Xero (20%) instead of reverting to 0% VAT correctly. They have no VAT added in Woocommerce; Woocommerce has all of the order information shown correctly at 0% VAT. Furthermore, on those orders the VAT rate doesn’t match the shipping VAT rate any more. With the WC Xero add-on, there was an option to ‘Match zero value tax rates’ which sorted these out so they come up in Xero as 0% VAT. With Xeroom, however, I’m seeing the 0% VAT lines arrive as ‘No VAT’ which isn’t right; it’s a completely different tax code for us. The result is that an order in the US (for example) comes out in Xero as 20% VAT on the item price and No VAT on the shipping, whereas in Woocommerce (and in reality) it was 0% on the item price and 0% on the shipping.